Expressive Figures and Giacometti Exhibition (Drawing or Painting).

Friday 30th June I attended the Giacometti Exhibition at the Tate Modern. I was hoping to see more drawings (with dry materials) however regardless of this it was still very inspiring. I had recently watched “Passions; Alberto Giacometti with Standley Tucci” on Sky Arts so was well armed with biographical information on the artist. What has stuck out the most for me is how Giacometti draws with paint he is the foremost artist for me that argues this debate of what is the line between drawing and painting and with Giacometti it is the expressive line that sometimes merges into painterly shapes or shadows that surround the figures. I particularly enjoyed seeing the series of Caroline Paintings (drawings) , how they differ and feed into each other.

Caroline 1965 by Alberto Giacometti 1901-1966

Fig 1 Caroline 1965 Alberto Giacometti

I also like how Giacometti draws/ frames around the edge of his paintings which appears as a continual theme in his paintings sometimes with more expressive marks around the boarders. It really draws the viewer into the drawing.

Focusing on figures from all the images I have been scrolling through online trying to make sense of how to develop my sketches of Sunbathers and children on holiday the following two images have really stuck in my head. A drawing by an Illustrator Rich Johnson which reminds me of a sunbathers and Degas after the bath which I viewed and sketched at the Ashmolean in April.

Degas after the bath

Fig 2  After the bath 1900 Edgar Degas Charcoal and chalk on pastel paper.

19cba98964ed0ffc1d65b4edcc8da3f1

Fig 3 Rich Johnson Thursday Morning Life Drawing Class (undated).

I have also spent this afternoon looking at Richard DiebenKorn’s expressive figures focusing on his drawings. I like how he had filled the space with visible marks, workings out, erased lines with thick marked lines for the figure. It’s not the most distinctive of his work but is of a style I would like to incorporate somehow into my own work.

diebenkorn_seatednude_1966

Fig 4 Seated Nude 1966 Richard DiebenKorn

What I have Learnt

  • The composition can filled with line and expression that is representative of the situation or surroundings to form an interesting visual image.
  • Different size of lines (revisited)
  • I have a fascination with line.
  • Framing of a composition (Giacometti) for the viewer.
  • How to develop my sketches using line.

Fig 1 Caroline 1965 Alberto Giacometti http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/giacometti-caroline-t00782 (accessed 13/07/17).

Fig 2 After the bath 1900 Edgar Degas https://www.artfund.org/news/2017/02/07/five-must-sees-ashmolean-degas-picasso-exhibition (accessed 13/07/17).

Fig 3  Rich Johnson Thursday Morning Life Drawing Class (undated).         https://www.google.co.uk/thursday+morning+life+by+rich+johnson&imgrc (accessed 13/07/17).

Fig 4 Seated Nude 1966 Richard DiebenKorn http://www.napkindad.com/blog/2012/02/18/artists-i-love-richard-diebenkorn-winter-weekend-series (accessed 13/07/17).

2 thoughts on “Expressive Figures and Giacometti Exhibition (Drawing or Painting).

  1. I really loved this post Alison! I became quite fascinated by Giacometti’s work too and love the way you describe it.
    Also happy to discover Richard Diebenkorn through your post.
    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

