Degas to Picasso Student visit 29th April 2017

I really enjoyed this exhibition and the journey of artists that it moved through. The exhibition featured a lot of drawings. Firstly I focused on a couple of  Lithograph’s and drawings by Theordre Gericault which featured line and wash which was particularly useful baring in mind my tutors recommendations to do so.

The most memorable drawing from the day personally was the chalk drawing by Degas, the line drawing by Picasso. I also spent some time looking at by Juan Gris, I love cubism but it reminded me that I need a top up on my understanding of it. Also the geometric qualities of Jaques Villion Monsieur D Reading 1913 was fascinating to look at try to comprehend technique.

IMG_4981IMG_4982IMG_4983IMG_4984IMG_4985

Degas After the Bath 1900 – I love use of colour used within the line (blue), the broad lines gentle use of colour within the figure and the central figure that appears like a statue without context of an abscent bath. I wish I had viewed this drawing before completing the line drawing for Assignment 4.

Degas after the bath

Fig 1 Degas after the bath 1900 Charcoal and chalk on pastel paper.

Picasso, use of negative space and how the curves appear to all link or work together whilst the human figure although out of proportion is still represented clearly.

theodore-gericault-retreat-from-russia-retour-de-russie-1818

Fig 2 Theodore Gericults Retreat from Russia 1818 Lithograph

Fig 1 Degas after the bath 1900 https://www.artfund.org/news/2017/02/07/five-must-sees-ashmolean-degas-picasso-exhibition

Fig 2 Theodore Gericults Retreat from Russia 1818 https://www.artsy.net/artwork/theodore-gericault-retreat-from-russia-retour-de-russie

 

 

Leave a Reply

