Aeriel or Atmospheric Perspective Continued…

Here is a further developed image (slightly more cropped than the last) of Smailholm Tower in Scotland. Since the beginning of the course I have been having an internal thought battle within myself as I have previously (comment at the end of assignment 1) been really interested in photo realistic or hyper realistic drawings however I also love really expressive drawings like Magi Hambling’s. I have been trying (debating in silence) to see where my own style sits or develops within this realistic to expressive range (also questioning what do I want to represent as a student/artist).

I have come to realise that what I like about the realistic drawings is the high contrast in tone and that I love experimenting with marks, I can see that my own style of drawing is developing and can end this torture of thought on this subject.

IMG_4848

A4 graphite and carbon pencil

Linear perspective v’s Ariel perspective

“Linear perspective  creates an illusion of distance through edges and lines. This concept is easier to understand. For example, the trees near your eyes seem bigger and taller than the trees in the far distance. Aerial (or atmospheric) perspective, emphasizes the sense of distance through changes in color intensity and value shift” (Nelson, 2013).

What I have learnt

Use other artist marks as a basis to explore texture and tone within the landscape and my own work.

Expression, marks and tonal contrast within the developement of my own style.

Although I think I have been successful representing tonal Values I wish I had used colour to demonstrate Gradation: “Gradation in art is a visual technique of gradually transitioning from one colour hue to another, or from one shade to another, or one texture to another. Space, distance, atmosphere, volume, and curved or rounded forms are some of the visual effects created with gradation” (Martin 1992).

Notes from OCA coursework: Tonal values become lighter (as the amount of space between the eye and the horizon increases).Detail less clear and focus steadily reduces If there is moisture even on a fine day it can seem though veils of blue are layered across mid to far distance (think of fog). Hot Landscapes aeriel or atmospheric perspective barely exists as the hottest tones (red sand in the outback) retain their saturated depth. Firstly establish the horizon. monochrome as a tonal atmospheric tool.

Martin, Judy (1992). The Encyclopedia of Pastel Techniques. Philadelphia, Pennsylvania: Running Press. p. 36 At: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gradation_(art) (accessed 25/05/2017)

Nelson, C 2013 Using Ariel Perspective At:http://www.explore-drawing-and-painting.com/painting-landscapes.html (accessed 11/5/2017).

Leave a Reply

