Project 4 Perspective Exercise 1 Parallel Perspective- An Interior View

I have always thought my understanding of perspective was ok -until I practised this exercise.  The first mistake I made was that I started to draw the door first and eventually worked out drawing the door frame first (not the angled door) works better to anchor the beginning of the drawing.

The first drawing I simply drew free hand as I wanted to compare my current understanding to this exercise.  The first drawing the vanishing point ended up off of the page.  I think this was because of my own movement when I was drawing which kept changing how I perceived the door and also the width of the door protruding towards me. Being at close range to the door/ door frame (my house unfortunately isn’t a mansion) also made it harder to perceive at first.

Definition of Linear Perspective.

“a mathematical system for representing three-dimensional objects andspace on a two-dimensional surface by means of intersecting lines thatare drawn vertically and horizontally and that radiate from one point(one-point perspective) two points (two-point perspective) or several points on a horizon line as perceived by a viewer imagined in an arbitrarily fixed position” (http://www.dictionary.com/browse/linear-perspective).

Vanishing point/ Eye line

Once I established the vanishing point/ eye line I used this as a device within the second drawing. I  used the door frame and the parallel lines that formed linear perspective that then linked back to the horizon/ eye line made the whole drawing work/ link together.

Receding lines are not real lines that connect or visible, they are lines drawn with the mind and when followed will result in an imaginary vanishing point :”all objects above the horizon/eye line appear to have lines that angle downwards towards the vanishing point. All Objects below the horizon/eye line appear to have lines that angle upwards towards the vanishing point” (OCA P72).

Parallel or one-point perspective

Parallel perspective changes -depending on where you view the objects changes the perspective. So seated or standing will change the eye line/horizon/vanishing point until therefore changing the angle of the parallel lines that will still meet at the vanishing point.

 

What I have learnt

  • Fine tuning perspective skills (My understanding of perspective was ok but this exercise has drastically helped to develop this skill).
  • Drawing the doorframe first to frames the drawing and inside view.
  • a ruler, mathematical measurements help drastically to the overall drawing perspective
  • Defining of terms and understanding of perspective
  • I am starting to question the importance of what I am drawing the subject? Is the narrative of the subject matter as important as the marks or overall composition. To overcome procrastination between exercises I am trying to remove the importance of what I am drawing. For example is drawing a pound store (generally an everyday general building) vs drawing Petworth House (grand/ ornate). Can you make a drawing of anything mundane interesting.
  • Choosing my rundown hallway hasn’t taken anything away from the drawing/ learning.

 

Linear Perspective: http://www.dictionary.com/browse/linear-perspective

OCA P72 Open College of the Arts Drawing 1: Drawing skills.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Project 4 Perspective Exercise 1 Parallel Perspective- An Interior View

  1. Thats really interesting. Do you think you draw differently because of the subject (subconsciouly or obviously) I can feel my relationship to an object/ person when I draw.. but unsure if it translates into my work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

