Research Point Foreshortening

I really enjoy drawing figures that envolve Foreshortening its very challenging.

“Foreshortening refers to the technique of depicting an object or human body in a picture so as to produce an illusion of projection or extension in space” (Tate).

As an experiment I used a grid to draw this image from a photograph- I think the head is too small. The other error is that the pencil indent was left on the page from using the grid. It was an interesting exercise using a grid as a back up method of checking the proportions. Its not normally a method I use.. I literally try to draw what I see so that I am training myself to see the proportions and make good judgements.

IMG_4127

A3 Sketch book Coloured Pencil

Tate Foreshortening Art Term At: http://www.tate.org.uk/art/art-terms/f/foreshortening

 

Leave a Reply

