Assignment 4 – Portrait Combining Line and Tone

 

The personal aim for this drawing was to focus on the objectives noted (below) from the brief ultimately to create a sucessful portrait of the Musician “The Grey Man”.

The brief for this assignment was to create a portrait where the features are believable and in proportion to the rest of the face, head, shoulders, arms and chest.

Try to find interesting proportions rather than looking straight ahead….. Be experimental and ambitious…

This is my favourite drawing that I have produced so far during this course (drawing 1) and I think It is very successful. I did extensive premiminary studies into the drawing as per previous tutor recomendations.

Assignment 4- Portrait combing line and tone

IMG_4113

Ink, watercolour, pencil, charcoal on A1 paper.

This drawing was inspired by my favourite piece of art by Picasso. Using this painting as an inspiration for a drawing question further thoughts on what is classed as drawing media and what is a painting media. From reading a debate on the student forum and research online the answer was in the question that I posed? Where is the line between drawing and painting. It is the line that differenciates along with the media used. Paint (acrylic, oil, other wet material) generally being used as painting medium with drawing covering dry materials but includes ink, watercolour and mixed media approaches.

“Drawing is a form that wears its mistakes on its sleeve” (Dexter, 2005) where as painting covers a canvas without the drawing pencil line being obvious. Water colour fits within both categories, in the book Vitamin D refering  to Walter Benjamin “In defining the difference between painting and drawing, acording to Benjamins logic, the watercolour stand squarely between the two” (Dester 2005).

With the Drawing Vs Painting debate in mind how would I create a drawing that is inspired by a painting, so I used a mixed media approach of watercolour and ink to try and produce a drawing that was not painterly.

blue-nude

Fig 1 Pablo Picasso Blue Nude 1902

I have a print of Blude Nude 1902 in my studio, in my print you can see the shapes of figures and faces in the background. I am unaware if this is intentional or if the Blue Nude was painted on a canvas that had already been previously used. Here are my sketch book notes of my interpretation of the marks.

IMG_4136

Here are the preliminary studies for the drawing

 

My tutor sugessted that I photograph the drawings so I can see the progress, here are the stages of development.

 

Fig 1 Pablo Picasso’s Blue Nude 1902 http://www.pablopicasso.org/blue-nude.jsp (s.d)

Dexter E, 2005 Vitamin D New Perspective in Drawing Phaidon Press

2 thoughts on “Assignment 4 – Portrait Combining Line and Tone

  1. Hi Alison, greatcoat you, Kate and me are all at the same point. What are you doing for assignment 5 and are you going for july assessment?best wishes, Sue

    On 5 April 2017 at 14:45, Alison Dollery Creative Arts Drawing 1 wrote:

    > Artista Creative Art posted: ” The personal aim for this drawing was to > focus on the objectives noted (below) from the brief ultimately to create a > sucessful portrait of the Musician “The Grey Man”. The brief for this > assignment was to create a portrait where the features are ” >

    Like

    1. Thanks Sue, I would like too, but I still have Landscape to do and still deciding on the part 5 project so imagine realistically will be Novemember Assessment. Will have to see if my children enjoy drawing lanscape over the easter holidays!

      Like

Leave a Reply

