Big Painting Challenge

Ironically after spending the day capturing energy and movement. BBC 1 Big Painting Challenge this evening also covered the same subject. I have made some notes in my sketch book and logged ideas for painting movement (if I do painting 1). Watching the programme made me question my drawings today (again) and reinforced the discovery I  made today of trying lots of loose, fast marks. Interestingly I had left detail in some of the movement (arms/feet) just representational which the tutors judges discussed on the programme as an correct interpretation. Thoroughly enjoyed the short overview on Degas discussing the use of line (floor/ walk) narrowing to the bottom left corner of one of his painting to suggest dimension, perspective and the ballet dancers moving forward.

Leave a Reply

