Assignment 2 Response to Tutor Feedback

Response to Tutor Feedback

Alison Dollery 515318

Thank you for my feedback, although initially I felt the feedback was very disappointing it has actually been very enlightening, developmental and I thank you for the pointers.

Here is my response:

The biggest problem for part 2 of this course for me was that having already done 18 months at Art College (mostly focusing on still life) the exercise briefs were extremely similar to work I had already done. In hindsight I should have been more transparent and used this as my starting point, reflected on it and progressed or sought help with my frustration. I didn’t want to come across arrogant as I appreciate I have still so much to learn, however the truth is I was extremely bored, I really struggled to get inspired by the exercises, find objects of interest or didn’t relate to the brief to find a new learning objective for me.  Having now worked through other parts of the course I realise that I could have spent more time exploring drawing techniques, tone and composition arrangement.

I am disappointed with the work I produced in part 2 because it wasn’t of a high standard of work that I would have liked to have achieved. Initially having read the feedback I was disappointed as I was hoping for more encouragement on what I had tried to achieve which was a mass experimentation of ideas and positive feedback on things I had done from assignment 1 feedback (looking at context and headers for assignment reflection). However in my tutors defence I hadn’t explained my starting point and frustrations having done extremely similar work before.

I clearly need to change my working methods (will arrange a hangout with my tutor for support). I have been reading whenever possible (hospital waiting rooms/ picking up children from school/ evenings) and although the information has gone in my brain I neglect to blog about it mainly because of time and logistics (for example my iPhone doesn’t like WordPress). (I have added this to the pointers).

I had researched and read about both the Welcome collection and Personal Voice recommendations but I hadn’t added any analysis or reflection to my blog. Although I had researched both Morandi and Bonnard I hadn’t followed the recommendations as per feedback in Assignment 1 although Morandi’s background was (I thought) the clear inspiration in the background of assignment 2 and other work. Frustratingly I have also read Vitamin D, Robert Kaupalis Experimental Drawing, and watched multiple arts programs that are also not reflected in my blog.  Having just finished Creative Arts Today (January submission) where I was frustrated that I had to put creative practical work on hold to complete the course I am now getting creative outpouring that I felt I had to run with (assignment 2) and when this happened everything else is got lost in the mix.( I have added this to pointers).

I have received the following feedback that I can be interpreted both positively and negatively “This was a bold attempt to manage and manipulate visually busy and conflicting material qualities” regarding assignment 2 and “There are some subtle and laboured approaches to drawing, where you evidence more subtleties in considering both the object and the space in which it sits.  In exercise 1: Detail and tone / Veg. Here you explore a range of mark-making qualities to create form, shadow and texture”.

Positive comments included that my “portfolio shows a development in confidence and take some bold risks” and “you have shown competency across a range of media”.

It was commented that I hadn’t explored various options for assignment 2’s composition. Unfortunately I hadn’t documented this- I explored multiple compositions and light reflection but by taking photographs (with an IPad) of the objects positioned in various places around my house (was mentioned in my blog). However I should have been extremely transparent documented the photos and explained this process. I possibly would have realised then that the composition and arrangement of the objects needed much more work. By doing this would have helped with the next stage’s process. After I had disregarded the photographs I set up the objects in my studio and drew from life (including then doing the quick sketches my tutor is referring too). What I neglected to at this point was to re- explore the objects for compositional effect in sketches or photographs for the final composition.

There was an element of intention of not writing about why I chose the objects as I wanted to see if the irony and narrative I tried to convey in my drawing was clear and unfortunately it seems it wasn’t. Again transparency on documenting this is needed in the future (I will go back and add this to my blog). I will ensure going forward that I am transparent with this and include the information for my tutor. Although I think what didn’t work was that I had too many aims or idea’s that my tutor is correct in advising me in the pointer” to begin with some very clear aims / intentions- this will help you more clearly focus on conveying them”.

What I have really learnt from the feedback and part 2 is that I need to be more transparent with how working, blogging when I do it, why I am doing, how I am working  and how it connects or reflects with what I have read or researched. I will just clarify this is what my tutor is referring to in the comment “It would really benefit your critical thinking and drawing process to use it more regularly, as a reflective space. This will help you appreciate and understand the qualities in your drawing and make decisions on how to develop your own work. There is a tendency in your critical thinking / analysis to refer to ‘what’ you did.  Ask yourself more questions and comment on ‘how’ and what purpose or content you can bring to the drawings. This is in relation to your personal interests, needs and desires – beyond the specific tasks for each assignment.”

After completing part two, speaking with other students and tutor Clare Wilson on a recent study visit I have discovered that I have very different ways of working and process’s that I use which I will seek further advice from my tutor on this. I had previously noticed that in my work and other students that their best work gets caught in sketch books so taught myself to not be too tentative or scared of completing the final assignment. I get such a strong need to express the view or thought in my head that I frequently use the following process; Photograph the subject/ object to check light, occasional quick sketch and then complete the composition from life (not from a photograph as doesn’t always have the same dimensional quality) to capture whatever “it is” that gets lost in sketch books. Although I have started using thumbnails (as per assignment 1 feedback) I will follow the pointer to do complete 6 A5 drawings for the assignment as well as thumbnails. I am completely open to new ways of working and I am positive I will learn something. I have previously identified that my learning style is predominantly an activist (Honey and Mumford learning styles) so I learn from doing and reflect on what I have done afterwards, then auto correct it if needed. From this feedback I have identified that I process information very quickly from A-z within seconds so that when others are still on B I have finished and given myself other objectives (such as media experimentation) the problem is I am not documenting this.

On a completely positive note I finally understand and feel confident with Harvard referencing as noted by my tutor “Good Harvard referencing throughout”.

The last barrier I need to overcome is translation of what I am doing in my blog. For example I frequently watch art programs and sometimes I have nothing to report (not sure how to document this in my blog to show how much work I am actually doing).  Sometimes I have a lot to document and I lack confidence to put this in my blog especially as my blog is public.

I will arrange a hangout with my tutor for advice on all the above and will ensure that the following pointers are fulfilled clearly for the next assignment submission;

**Assignment 1 feedback: Revisit Research suggestions on Morandi / Bonnard including analysis and applying to your prep compositions.

** Follow up on the Welcome Trust suggestion from Assignment 1 feedback.

Pointers for the next assignment

  • Reflect critically on this feedback in your learning log.
  • Set yourself some clear aims / intentions before you start the assignment (in addition to the assignment tasks). Ask yourself what are trying to convey / communicate?  This will help you more clearly achieve the context / narrative / symbolic content…you seek.
  • Critical thinking: You have some evidence of analysis and critical reflection on your work. The work will benefit from deepening this reflection, analysis and setting aims. Try and write less on ‘what you do’ but more on what you’re aiming to explore, convey and communicate- then how you might explore this.
  • Work out options for composition, negative space / object relationship, mark-making and tonal range in your preliminary drawings- as recommended try 6 x A5 before starting the assignment work.

Additional pointers added by myself:

  • Get advice on documenting in my blog.
  • Document reading on personal voice.
  • Document in blog reading and watching of programs.
  • Revisit understanding of positive and negative space.
  • Clarify with Tutor different ways of working provided it is documented.
  • Clarify my understanding of “how what purpose or content you can bring to the drawings. This is in relation to your personal interests, needs and desires – beyond the specific tasks for each assignment”).
  • Complete clear aims for each assignment and 6 x A5 drawings and blog before staring work on assignment. (“It would be good to see you construct your final drawings and think about potential composition, flow and tone at the prep stage.  You didn’t seem to explore any options for composition, prior to the piece: the wine glass remained dead-centre, apple and plant pot in exact same position”).
  • Document all photography taking photos to show stages of completion (“I recommend that you take images of the assignment piece at each stage of its development. It might help you to see clearly- what is working in the drawing.  It might also guide you in allowing some aspects of the drawing to be less-worked.  Post these to your log ( in future submissions) remember the process of development, reflection and thinking, are as important as the final piece”).
  • Ways of working/ blogging– ask tutor for ideas around time management and would using an A5 pad/sketch book to write notes down as I read to then blog about?
  • Make a list of work to complete so that I can take advantage of wanting to do theory or practical work.
Leave a Reply

