Project 3- At home (Sketches) and Research Point- Interiors

At this point of study I have unintentionally combined all three exercises in the “Project 3-At home” section together. This is mainly because of also doing preliminary sketches/ experimentation for assignment 2 which has followed a similar theme (next blog post). I had a little confusion over the differences between the three exercises in the section of the course, although between all the drawings I have covered all aspects of the exercises.

I started exercise 1 by doing quick 5 minute sketches and intending to do more however I got so involved enjoying with what I was doing the quick sketches became more like 20 minute drawings. It really highlighted how I can enjoy and feel challenged by drawing anything. I also surprised myself how quickly I was able to interpret the lines and shapes so the eventual composition fits together.

5 Minute Sketch pencil A4

img_3092-2

Longer  Sketches (approx 20 minutes) A4 and A3

img_3091img_3090img_3089

 

I then wanted to do more detailed sketches (as per exercises) representing light and tone. I did this in the evening to ensure there were more interesting shadows to capture.

Pencil on A5

There was a massive learning curve from these sketches , concentrating on  drawing what I was seeing and fitting the positive and negative space/shapes together to form the overall compositions. Capturing texture next to each other is something I need to explore further. However saying that my home is very modern (expect my children’s mess) and lacks texture.

For fun I practiced a line drawing looking at textures.

img_3077

Research Point- Interiors

Looking at the image of Anthony Green, Study for Mrs Madeleine Jocelyne with her Son,1987, I can see that many details from the room are presented at different angles. The View point is looking down with Mrs Jocelyne at the center suggesting that she is aware we are viewing her. I love the view of Multiple perspectives within one composition.

Phillip Pearlstein uses as “diagonal emphasis to the composition, with the legs of both models reaching from corner to corner. The mirror also adds a more distanced frontal view of the woman” (Oca P51).

pearlstein1

Fig 1 Two Seated Female Models in Kimonos with Mirror

The above image is the closest I could find the image used in the OCA course book. Similarly to how I view a cubist painting or similarly to Hockney’ Joiner Photograph I can stare and analyse multi view points for hours on end. I would really like to explore more with the use of a Mirror in my work. It adds such depth and different dimensions to an image.

For this exercise I also wanted to look at artists finding new ways of working. Although similar to an abstract style of painting artist Mickalene Thomas’ Monet’s Kitchen 2014 is a really interesting way of slicing up the perspectives and presenting them as a flat image. Through the use of line, colour, form and tone depth is still evident when needed. The continual use of the same vivid shades of blue, brown and pink  links and connects the individual  images together.

thomas_monets_kitchen_2014_website
Fig 2 Monets Kitchen 2014 Mickalene Thomas Rhinestones, acrylic, enamel, oil and silkscreen on wood

 

Further information on the artist Mickalene Thomas ttp://mickalenethomas.com/gallery2014.html

Fig 1 Two Seated Female Models in Kimonos with Mirror At:https://www.handprint.com/HP/WCL/artist34.html (2015)

Fig 2 Monets Kitchen 2014 Mickalene Thomas Rhinestones, acrylic, enamel, oil and silkscreen on wood At: http://www.houldsworth.co.uk/exhibition-view/domestic-unrest/1/5 (s.d).

Leave a Reply

