Project 2 Exercise 3 Creating shadow using lines and marks

I had a barrier to overcome with this exercise, I do not like cross hatching or stripling for the sake of creating an image in my work unless its natural. I like to draw what I see and if a shadow is smooth then tend to leave it that way or if there is natural texture then I add it in. I like other peoples drawings with it in especially if the drawing naturally has a lot of expression in it as a whole. Anyhow I followed the exercise and the results are OK. I need more inspiration in this area. I like stippling in the work of the impressionists/ pointillism and use for more abstract work.

George Seurat A Sunday Afternoon on the Island of La Grande Jatte 1884-86, Oil on Canvas.

Leave a Reply

